LSRE-LCM can be traced back to 1975/1977 when two Research Lines 

  • Processos de Separação e Reacção em Meios Porosos e Dispersos, led by Alírio Rodrigues
  • Heterogeneous Catalysis, led by José Luís Figueiredo were started at CEQ, Centro de Engenharia Química, Universidade do Porto, financed by INIC – Instituto Nacional de Investigação Científica.

Ciência 1990, the financing programme launched by JNICT, Junta Nacional de Investigação Ciêntifica, steered to a first organisation as independent research groups. 

  • Laboratório de Processos de Separação e Reacção em Meios Porosos e Dispersos
  • Grupo de Materiais Carbonados e Compósitos of IMAT – Instituto de Materiais

The establishment of LSRE and LCM as R&D Units resulted from the process of organization of Portuguese academic and institutional research in 1993, promoted by Mariano Gago, the then Minister of Science and Technology.

  • LSRE – Laboratory of Separation and Reaction Engineering
  • Director: Alírio Rodrigues. Members: Carlos Costa, José Carlos Lopes, José Miguel Loureiro, Madalena Dias, Mário Rui Costa e Rui Boaventura.
  • LCM – Laboratory of Catalysis and Materials 
  • Director: José Luís Figueiredo. Members: Joaquim Faria, José Inácio Martins, José Melo Orfão and Manuel Jerónimo.

In the FCT Evaluations of 1993-1995, 1996-1998 and 1999-2001, LSRE and LCM obtained classifications of Excellent and Very Good, respectively. 

In 1999, LSRE first applied to FCT for the status of Associate Laboratory.
In 2002 a partnership between LSRE and LCM was established, to which the status of Associate Laboratory was
awarded in 2004.
In 2011, this status was renewed for a period of 10 years.

In the 2013 FCT Evaluation, the designation of LSRE-LCM was formally adopted and this R&D Unit was evaluated as Excellent. In the words of the Evaluation Panel, LSRE-LCM is “…by far the dominating research institution for Chemical Engineering in Northern Portugal.”